资源

Uptime Institute 中断严重性评级

中断严重性评级 (OSR) 由 Uptime Institute 开发,旨在帮助基础设施行业更好地区分威胁业务的服务中断和影响很小或没有影响的中断。

Uptime Institute 的情报小组研究了公开报告的中断事件,以了解意外停机的原因以及服务中断的影响。媒体报道的中断次数逐年攀升,从我们第一年报告的 27 次(2016)升至 2019 的 163 次。€‚

Uptime Institute 的 OSR 将帮助数字基础设施和数据中心社区更好地了解和阐明服务中断,以了解每个事件对业务造成怎样的影响。

OSR 支持基础设施从业人员在制定自己的服务交付能力策略时使用一套通用的词汇,描述自己的中断对业务产生的影响,而不必根据受损的实体基础设施组件的数量来了解中断情况。

对中断严重性评级有疑问?

请在下表中填写您的联系方式,Uptime Institute 工作人员将立即与您联系。

对中断的严重性及其影响进行分类的指标

虽然有多种方法可以将各种系统的任务临界性分类为容灾及可用性/冗余投资的规划工具,但尚无类似于蒲福风级这样的方法来衡量中断的严重性/影响。

这样的评级显然是有用的。例如,两周内无法使用人力资源系统可能会令人沮丧,但其影响可以忽略不计,即使在大型企业中也是如此,但是,如果货币交易系统瘫痪 5 分钟,企业的结果很可能是灾难性的。

为了对公开中断的影响进行分类,Uptime Institute 创建了一个分为五个等级的中断严重性评级,如下所示。

Uptime Institute 中断严重性评级
混合基础设施以所有可用组件的设计能力为基础,提供相应级别的业务服务。历史上,“中断”一词的使用反映了服务交付的二元状态。由于 IT 行业继续利用混合基础设施设计,“中断”的定义和范围也必须因之改变。这种评级方法提供了词汇表来量化中断及其对业务的影响。
Andy Lawrence
“随着中断数量的逐年增加,公众对中断的意识越来越强。在大多数情况下,我们很难理解中断的真实性质和严重程度,因为大多数从业者仍然根据受影响的实体基础设施设备的数量来判断中断的严重性。”
Uptime Institute 研究执行总监 Andy Lawrence

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink SoftwarePowered By OneLink

Uptime Institute Outage Severity Rating


The Outage Severity Rating (OSR) was developed by Uptime Institute to help the infrastructure industry better distinguish between a service outage that threatens to impact the business and an inconvenient outage that has little or no impact to the business.

For the past three years, Uptime Institute's Intelligence group has been studying publicly reported outages to understand what has been causing unplanned downtime and the effects of these outages. During the period, the number of outages has steadily climbed, with 27 outages in 2016; 57 outages in 2017, and 78 outages in 2018.

Uptime Institute’s OSR will help the digital infrastructure and data center community better understand and articulate service outages in the context of how each incident affects the business.

With the OSR, infrastructure practitioners can finally share a common lexicon when forming their own service delivery capacity strategies and can view their own outages in terms of business impacts, rather than referencing outages based upon the number of physical infrastructure components that were involved.

Questions about the Outage Severity Rating?

Fill out the contact form below and Uptime Institute staff will follow up with you right away.

A Metric to Classify the Severity and Impact of Outages

Although there are various ways to categorize the "mission criticality" of various systems as a planning tool for disaster recovery and availability/redundancy investments, there is no "Richter Scale" for measuring the severity/impact of outages.

Such a rating is clearly useful. For example, the effect of losing access to a human resources system for two weeks might be frustrating but negligible, even in large organizations, while a 5-minute loss of a currency trading system can be near catastrophic.

For classifying the impact of public outages, Uptime Institute has created a five-level Outage Severity Rating as outlined below.

Hybrid infrastructures deliver business services at a level of designed capacity based on all components being available. Historically an “outage” was considered as a binary state of service delivery, but as the IT industry continues to leverage hybrid infrastructure designs, the definition and scope of “outages” also must change. This rating method provides lexicon to quantify outages and their impact to business.
Andy Lawrence
“Public awareness of outages is becoming more pronounced as the number increases year over year. In most cases, we find it difficult to understand the true nature and magnitude of the outage since most practitioners still characterize the severity of an outage based on the amount of affected physical infrastructure equipment.”
Andy Lawrence Executive Director of Research, Uptime Institute