客户展示:NEXTDC
“获得 Uptime Institute Tier IV Certification 部分原因是为了保持设计优雅、简洁,以及使路径分隔,从而获得容错能力。我们建设和运营的数据中心是能够适应未来的基础设施,它们必须满足最高的可靠性标准。”
NEXTDC 徽标
Jeff Van Zetten
工程和设计主管,NEXTDC 
NEXTDC B2 布里斯班数据中心
挑战NEXTDC 是澳大利亚领先的独立数据中心运营商,其 Uptime Institute Tier III 和 Tier IV 认证设施遍布全国。在为 B2 布里斯班(该公司第二代设施中的首个设施)申请第一个 Uptime Institute Tier IV Certification 过程中,NEXTDC 看到有机会向 NEXTDC 客户确认设施的关键基础设施的卓越弹性(客户对数据中心运营商的持续正常运行时间、可扩展性和连接的要求与日俱增),以及展示推动 NEXTDC 成功的技术创新。
NEXTDC 布里斯班数据中心 - 室内
NEXTDC 布里斯班数据中心 - 室外
解决方案

NEXTDC 工程团队通过两种方式满足对 Uptime Institute Tier IV 认证数据中心的容错要求:在电气系统中增加差分故障保护和隔离变压器;每根电源线均采用完全防火措施。

尽管很多 Tier IV 设计依赖于答复增加冗余基础设施,但 B2 仅要求将额外的 RUPS 装置 (+1) 增加到为支持电气系统的设施 (N) 实现 Tier IV 级容错能力所需的装置数量。因此,如果系统的任何一个零件出现电气故障,该零件很快就被隔离出来 — 在发生火灾时,该零件将被抑制 — 意味着虽然支持负载的系统数量已从 N+1 减少到 N,但系统的其余部分不受影响。“系统的其余部分”(也就是剩余的 N 容量)会自动调高,确保在整个数据中心持续供应电源,而不会出现中断。

NEXTDC 的工程团队探索冷却技术的最新发展状况,开发了简化、高度隔离的冷却系统解决方案,这些解决方案具有容错能力,而且满足每个数据中心的冷却要求。一个共同特征是使用一系列极其高效的独立模块化冷却装置,这是实现系统容错的重要因素。

“研究世界各地的 Tier IV 后,我们的发现成果之一就是,您的成本不一定会上升。举个简单的例子,对于 B2,我们在大楼外面安装和设计了水管,这样就腾出了几行的额外机架。通过将管道放在建筑物外面,我们自然而然获得了灾难性泄漏容限能力。”
NEXTDC 布里斯班数据中心 Jeff Van ZettenJeff Van Zetten
工程和设计主管,NEXTDC
NEXTDC 布里斯班数据中心 - 电源
成果

建设 Uptime Institute Tier IV 认证数据中心的成本一般涉及使用 N+N 或 2N+1 设计,对银行等大型数据依赖型组织而言,在经济方面一般是可行的。对专注于提供竞争价值的托管提供商而言,由于需要大幅增加投资,因此即使可靠性有可能提升,也不划算。

然而,通过结合先进技术和创新工程和设计,NEXTDC 目前正在按照 Tier IV 容错标准建设第二代设施,成本几乎与 Tier III 设施的建设成本不相上下。因此,对希望最大程度延长正常运行时间从而降低数据依赖风险的任何澳大利亚企业而言,这种极高的可靠性和弹性现在是经济方面可行的方案。

NEXTDC 已发布深度的白皮书,介绍成为澳大利亚第一个获得 Uptime Institute 的 Tier IV Certification of Constructed Facility (TCCF) 认证的数据中心背后的业务、设计和工程成就。在他们的网站下载此白皮书:https://www.nextdc.com/whitepapers/what-does-tier-iv-mean-for-you

NEXTDC Tier Certifications by Facility
 

Powered By OneLink

Client Showcase: NEXTDC
"Achieving Uptime Institute’s Tier IV Certification is partly about keeping the design elegantly simple, and keeping the paths separated to make it fault tolerant. The data centres that we build and operate are infrastructure for the future, and they have to meet the highest reliability standards."
NEXTDC Logo
Jeff Van Zetten
Head of Engineering and Design, NEXTDC 
NEXTDC B2 datacenter Brisbane
The ChallengeNEXTDC is Australia’s leading independent data centre operator with a nationwide network of Uptime Institute Tier III and Tier IV certified facilities. In pursuing its first Uptime Institute Tier IV Certification for B2 Brisbane, the first of the company’s second-generation facilities, NEXTDC saw an opportunity to confirm the exceptional resilience of the facility’s critical infrastructure for NEXTDC customers – which are placing growing demands on data centre operators for continuous uptime, scalability and connectivity – and demonstrate the technical innovation that is driving NEXTDC’s success.
NEXTDC Brisbane Data Center - Indoor
NEXTDC Brisbane Data Center - Outdoor
The Solution

The NEXTDC engineering team addressed the fault tolerance requirement for an Uptime Institute Tier IV-Certified data centre in two ways: The addition of differential fault protection and isolation transformers to the electrical system; and the complete fire-segregation of each power string.

Whereas many Tier IV designs rely on a significant increase in redundant infrastructure, B2 only required an additional extra RUPS unit (+1) to be added to the number of units required to support the facility (N) for the electrical system to achieve a Tier IV level of fault tolerance. As a result, if an electrical fault develops on any one part of the system, that part is very quickly isolated — and in the case of fire, contained — meaning that although the amount of systems supporting the load has been reduced from N+1 to N, the rest of the system remains unaffected. That ‘rest of the system’ (i.e. the remaining N capacity) automatically ramps up, ensuring continuous availability of power throughout the data centre without interruption.

NEXTDC’s engineering team explored recent advances in cooling technology and developed simplified and highly segregated cooling system solutions, which are fault tolerant and meet each data centre’s cooling requirements. One common feature is the use of a series of incredibly efficient, stand-alone modular cooling units, which are a crucial factor in achieving the system’s fault tolerance.

"One of the things we have learnt by studying Tier IV around the world is that it doesn’t have to cost you more. As a simple example, for B2 we installed and designed the water pipes outside the building, freeing up multiple rows of additional racks. By putting the pipes outside the structure, we achieved catastrophic leak tolerance by default."
NEXTDC Brisbane DataCenter Jeff Van ZettenJeff Van Zetten
Head of Engineering and Design, NEXTDC
NEXTDC Brisbane Data Center - Power
The Outcome

The cost of constructing an Uptime Institute Tier IV-Certified data centre — generally involving the use of N+N or 2N+1 designs — was often only economically viable for large data-dependent organisations such as banks. For colocation providers focussed on delivering competitive value, the potential increase in reliability did not justify the substantial additional investment required.

However, by combining cutting-edge technologies with innovative engineering and design, NEXTDC is now building its second-generation facilities to Tier IV fault tolerance standards, at almost the same cost as a Tier III facility. As a result, this exceptional level of reliability and resilience is now an economically viable option for any enterprise operating in Australia looking to de-risk its reliance on data by maximising uptime.

NEXTDC has published an in-depth whitepaper outlining the business, design and engineering achievements behind becoming the first data centre in Australia to achieve Tier IV Certification of Constructed Facility (TCCF) certification from Uptime Institute. Download the whitepaper on their website at: https://www.nextdc.com/whitepapers/what-does-tier-iv-mean-for-you

NEXTDC Tier Certifications by Facility