专业服务

服务器退役研讨会

未充分利用及休眠的服务器通常占到公司服务器安装库的 20-30%。系统、可靠且重复地移除这些服务器可释放宝贵的 IT 资源,并对其进行更好的利用,从而显著提升您的整体 IT 效率,还能够为首要问题或开发保存企业资源。

必须以目的明确且全面的方式完成服务器利用率监控和服务器退役工作。此项工作通常涉及到分布在企业不同部门的各种利益相关者。虽然的确有可能造成运营中断,但是却可以降低数百万美元的成本并恢复数据中心的容量。

Uptime Institute 推广研讨会的目的在于确保休眠服务器退役工作的合理、协调和成功。在本次研讨会中,Uptime Institute 咨询服务将评估您目前的资产生命周期流程和程序、协助筹划并确定一种利用可靠最佳实践并在客户案例研究中证实能够降低机房服务器资源浪费的全新优化服务器退役流程。我们还会为您提供有关以下方面的最佳方法建议:确定未充分利用的服务器、设立正确工具管理并跟踪硬件资产的重要性以及如何成为商业案例来获得关键管理层对该流程的认同。

研讨会主题和次序:

  • 成为商业案例
  • 确定服务器生命周期管理的当前流程和所有权
  • 评估已安装工具的监控服务器利用率
  • 确定目标服务器
  • 筹划流程并确定相关职责
  • 如何长期维持休眠服务器退役流程

Uptime Institute 将推进为期 1 至 2 天的现场研讨会,并提供与研讨会议程和明智后续步骤相关的结果和建议备忘录。

有这样一种说法,最环保的数据中心是那些非实体数据中心。

“这就是我们为什么在 Barclays 设立服务器退役计划的原因。我们希望缩小数据中心的规模,并从随之而来的成本节约中获益,同时让我们能够大规模地提升整体计算能力。移除数千台弃用服务器能够为我们引入下一代系统创造容量。节约空间就能节约功耗。这一点可帮助我们实现碳排放目标。在移除或虚拟化一台服务器时,我们还能够节约网络、SAN 和软件成本。我们最终获得的是更加干净、安全和便宜的场地,同时还握有不断发展业务所需的容量。这是一项艰巨的任务,也存在着一些风险,但是最终获得的优势却多到难以令人忽视。”

-Paul Nally,Barclays 主管

退役是一门学问

 

 


Expandable Contact Us

联系我们

 

MS - Light - Infographic:两个数据中心的故事

RHR 图片信息图

 

Powered By OneLink

Professional Services

Server Decommissioning Workshop

Underutilized and comatose servers typically account for 20-30% of a company’s server install base. Systematically, reliably, and repetitively eliminating these servers can drastically improve your overall IT efficiency by freeing up valuable IT resources that can now be put to better use, and restore corporate resources to the bottom line or development. 

A server utilization monitoring and server decommissioning effort must be undertaken in a purposeful and thorough fashion. The effort typically involves a variety of stakeholders positioned in various groups throughout the enterprise. The opportunity for business disruption is real, yet the results can be in the millions of dollars of reduced cost and recovered data center capacity.

Uptime Institute facilitates workshops to ensure justification, coordination, and success of a comatose server decommissioning effort.  In this workshop, Uptime Institute consulting services will evaluate your current asset lifecycle processes and procedures, and facilitate mapping out and defining a new and improved server decommissioning process that utilizes tried and true best practices, proven through client case studies to reduce server waste in their computer rooms.  We will also provide you with tips on the best ways to identify underutilized servers, the importance of having the right tools in place to manage and track your hardware assets, as well as how to make the business case to get that vital management buy-in to the process.

Workshop Topics & Sequence:

  • Make the business case
  • Identify present processes and ownership for server life cycle management
  • Evaluate installed tools for monitor server utilization
  • Identify the servers to target
  • Map out process and define responsibility
  • How to evergreen the comatose server decommissioning process

Uptime Institute will facilitate the 1- to 2-day on-site workshop and provide a memo of findings and recommendations appropriate to the workshop proceedings and prudent next steps.

It has been said that the greenest data center is the one that’s never built.

“That is the main reason we have our server decommissioning program at Barclays. We are looking to shrink our data center footprint and benefit from the savings that this affords us, while allowing ourselves to massively expand our overall compute capability. When obsolete servers are removed in the thousands, it creates the capacity that we need to bring the next generation of systems in. We save in space; we save in power. It helps us meet our carbon targets. When we eliminate or virtualize a server, we also save on network, SAN, and software costs.  We end up in a cleaner, safer, cheaper place with the capacity in hand that we need to continue to grow our business. There is real work, and some risk, in getting this job done, but the benefits are simply too many to ignore.”

-Paul Nally, Director at Barclays

Decommissioning as a Discipline

 

 


Expandable Contact Us

Contact Us

 

MS - Light - Infographic: A Tale of Two Data Centers

RHR Images Infographic